ARUA. Voting is underway at the 65 polling stations in Arua municipality on a bright Wednesday morning as residents seek to select a successor to late former Member of Parliament Ibrahim Abiriga.

However there were some cases of delays registered at certain polling station occasioned by late arrival of officials.

At a polling station in Congaloya cell, Awindiri Ward in Arua Hill Division, electoral commission officials had to go and pick the presiding officer from home after waking up late while the biometric thumbprint machines failed to work at many stations.

Mr Jotham Taremwa, the electoral commission spokesman said that the exercise has largely taken off smoothly.

Mr Jotham Taremwa EC

He promised to follow up on the reports of delayed arrival of polling officials with their supervisors and urged the public to report any cases of irregularities by calling the toll free lines of the commission.

“I hope some people are not trying to beat the biometric system. We have our technical people and any issues with the system should be reported,” he said.

Whereas voting was to start at 7:00am some polling stations could not open because the voters had not turned up.

The election rules stipulate that voting cannot begin unless there are five voters present.

The voters have twelve candidates to choose from including Ms Nurura Tiperu of the National Resistance Movement, Mr Bruce Musema of the Forum for Democratic change, Mr Kennedy Madira of the Democratic Party and Mr Ja’afar Alekua of the Justice Forum Party.

The others are independent candidates Mr Jackson Atima, Mr Sunday Anguandia, Mr Ejiku Robert, Mr Elton Nyero, Mr Simon Avutia, Mr Kassiano Wadri, Mr Alfred Nyakuni and Mr Saffi Bavuga.