NEBBI. President Yoweri Kaguta Museveni, the President of the Republic of Uganda who also doubles as the ruling National Resistance Movement (NRM) party chairman spent the most part of Tuesday campaigning for his candidate to win the Nebbi district chairman seat.

Tuesday was set by the Electoral Commission (EC) as the last day for campaigns for the post that fell vacant after the death of Esrom William Alenyo in September last year.

Speaking during a rally at Alengo playing ground in Parombo Town Council, President Museveni asked the people of Nebbi to vote for Mr Emmanuel Urombi, the party flag bearer so that he can accomplish the task left by Alenyo, who was also an NRM member.

“I thank you for voting for my late brother Alenyo. Now vote for this young man (Urombi) so that he goes to complete the work of Alenyo together with me,” said Museveni.

“If you vote for opposition person, it is a waste of time because the person will not come to where I’m,” Museveni warned as he handed over the party flag to Urombi.

Urombi 10 07 19

But as Museveni was campaigning for Urombi to regain the seat, Mr Patrick Amuriat Oboi, the President of the Forum for Democratic Change (FDC), the lead opposition party in Uganda also camped in the district to ensure that his candidate, Mr Vicky Onyai emerges victorious.

“My candidate has the support and he is the best in this race. I’m sure, he is going to win,” Amuriate said shortly after one of the rallies in Nebbi town.

However, Mr George Othuba, an Independent candidate maintained that he doesn’t need any support of a ‘Godfather,’ saying his voters love him and that they are ready to vote for him.

“I have the confidence and I believe in myself; that is why I don’t need any Godfather to back me up because my people are there to support me,” Othuba said.

According to Justice Simon Byabakama, the Chairman Electoral Commission, the Nebbi LC5 by-election which is slated to take place on Thursday, July 11, 2019, will cost Ugandan shillings 700 million.

Nebbi has a population of 238, 757 and 224 gazetted polling station.